The Dempsey Family

Just another WordPress.com site

Finally… June 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — britannydempsey @ 6:30 pm
After weeks of owning the scooter, I finally took the chance to ride it last night.  Just as Jake had warned me, it was a lot of fun.  I insisted on practicing in an empty parking lot before I would go on the road.  I am kind of a chicken when it comes to riding on the street with other cars.  The practice session went great–took me a little while to figure out the "leaning into the turn" thing.  Other than that, I think I’ve got it down.  I even drove it home, with Jake following behind to scrape me off the road.  Luckily, that wasn’t necessary.  I found myself trying to think of people I could go visit on the scooter.  Who knows, I might become a more social person (not likely).  Jake actually took Alice on a marathon ride yesterday.  They went downtown, got some gas, and then went over to our friends’ house.  Jake gave their kids rides and Jon some big ideas about new toys he might like to buy.  Not sure if his wife, Becky, has the same ideas.  But, I guess Alice did well on the long ride.  Although Jake did have to keep telling her to hold on.  She would just ride with one hand on the handle bars while waving to everyone and honking the horn.  Fun little new toy–plus we save $ on gas.  Jake has already run a few errands for me on it–plus he’s much more willing to do them if he gets to take the scooter.
 

3 Responses to “Finally…”

  1. Jon Says:

    Jon totally thinks he\’s buying one. Megan and Garrett both had so much fun on it, although Garrett was scared at first! I\’m glad you drove it…I would have been chicken too! No scooters (or Harley\’s) for me.

  2. bridgette Says:

    We must check out the scooter when we visit.  Mark has been talking about getting one ever since we moved here.  Pretty soon the gas prices are going to kill us (if the wildfires don\’t get to us first).

  3. Kimberlee Says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I love the bit about Jake being more willing to run errands if it\’s on his scooter, sort of reminds me of when I first got my license and was begging to be allowed to drive to the grocery store, dry cleaning, SOMETHING. We could definitely use a less gas-guzzling car these days!


Leave a Reply

