The Dempsey Family

Just another WordPress.com site

What’s with that? August 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — britannydempsey @ 3:59 pm
Jake and I finally got a chance to go out and celebrate our 9th anniversary last night.  After dinner at one of our favorite restaurants (Italianissimo), we finally saw The Dark Knight.  It was great, as all the reviews had said.  Something happened after the show that I just don’t understand.  It has happened many other times at movies I have seen, and still can’t quite figure out why it happens.  Here is what is was: People clapped.  Yep, that’s right.  After the show was over and the credits rolled, people were clapping.  Why?  Will someone explain this to me?  I certainly didn’t see Christopher Nolan, Christian Bale, nor Michael Caine.  Although, perhaps Heath heard it from some far off place (we miss you buddy).  As far as I know, no one from the movie was there to receive that kind of praise/recognition.  So, why do people do it?  Note: No offense to any of you post-movie clappers out there.
 

5 Responses to “What’s with that?”

  1. Josh Says:

    hmmm…. never thought of that before. Very good point. Why? I dont clap after a movie but might rethink my clapping habit after finishing a good book.

  2. Nicole Says:

    Don\’t we already pay too much money to see the movie that people feel the need to clap too?

  3. Jon Says:

    Don\’t hate me….but I have been known to clap along with the rest of the audience at a good movie!  I think I just like to clap…..
     

  4. Kimberlee Says:

    I don\’t get the clappers either. I never have.
     
    LOVE the new kitchen floors! And so glad Jake is okay. 10 fingers are definitely still the "in" thing…

  5. Akula Says:

    I like to clap after the movie is over. But only when I\’m wearing my Batman costume. http://blog.nordquist.org


Leave a Reply

