The Dempsey Family

Just another WordPress.com site

Creating October 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — britannydempsey @ 12:50 pm

I was very inspired by President Deiter F. Uchtdorf’s comments during the General Relief Society Meeting on Saturday.  I really do want to create, but I struggle with the perfection aspect of it all.  I fear imperfection when I do things.  If I can’t do things perfectly, I don’t want to even give them a try.  Sad…that is why most of the walls in my home are bare.  I mean, what if I put the picture up and it doesn’t look good there?  Gee, I guess I could just keep moving it until I get it just right.  I need to get over that.  I have a few projects bumping around in my brain that I think I need to get going on.  Here is my first attempt at “creating” since hearing that talk.  I sewed a small bag out of scraps I had lying around for the markers Alice takes to church.  Baby steps, people, baby steps. 

 

 

8 Responses to “Creating”

  1. Christine Says:

    That looks so cute! I need to finish some of my projects, too. 🙂 I\’m hoping to have more energy one of these days!!

  2. Christine Says:

    That was from me by the way. 🙂 Christine

  3. Jeff Says:

    I totally agree…his talk was inspiring.  Totally resonated with me.  Way to go!  The bag is really cute.  I can imagine that Alice thinks it is the best thing ever, because her mom made it for HER.

  4. Jon Says:

    I love the bag! It looks like you have the right calling (Enrichment Leader) for your creative outlet. I loved all of the RS broadcast, but particularly his talk. It was awesome!

  5. Kimberlee Says:

    First of all Roxy is absolutely adorable! LOVE the hair. 🙂 Second, I feel the exact same way about creating things, I get stuck on perfection, and just like you, my walls are mostly bare. I can\’t commit! It drives Caleb crazy, if I let him all our walls would be covered, but I keep telling him I\’m just not POSITIVE on what I want up, and where…and the bag is gorgeous. 🙂 I couldn\’t sew if my life depended on it!

  6. Trisha Says:

    You are an inspiration.  Everything I have seen you do is beautiful.  Show us more!

  7. Weldon Says:

    Love the bag, you always find such cute fabric.  Uchtdorfs talk really was fantastic, wasn\’t it? 

  8. Weldon Says:

    Ummm, that comment was from me Donya, not Weldon 🙂 


Leave a Reply

